The Institute's leadership, staff, faculty, and advisory boards are dedicated to the IAH mission to support and develop Carolina faculty. Below is a listing of these teams as well as our current Faculty Fellows and Academic Leadership Program Fellows.


Andy Andrews

Professor, Sociology
919-962-1008
kta@unc.edu


Misha Becker

Misha Becker

Professor, Linguistics Department
919-962-1192
mbecker@email.unc.edu


Michele Berger

Michele Berger

Director, Faculty Fellows Program
919-962-3908
mtberger@email.unc.edu


Old Well

James Keith Brown

Advisory Board Member


Emily Burrill

Emily Burrill

Director, African Studies Center; Associate Professor, Women's and Gender Studies Department
919-962-3908
eburrill@email.unc.edu


Old Well

Max C. Chapman, Jr.

Finance Committee, Advisory Board


M. Clay

M. Clay

Communications Specialist
919-843-2654
meclay@email.unc.edu


Old Well

Sanford A. Cockrell III

Finance Committee, Advisory Board


Wendy Cox

Wendy Cox

Associate Dean for Professional Education, Eshelman School of Pharmacy
919-966-9990
wendy_cox@unc.edu


Mark Crescenzi

Mark Crescenzi

Professor, Political Science
919-962-0401
crescenzi@unc.edu


Mark Crescenzi

Mark Crescenzi

Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor & Chair, Department of Political Science,
919-962-0401
crescenzi@unc.edu


Old Well

Rebecca W. Darwin

Communications Committee, Advisory Board


Mark Driscoll

Associate Professor, Asian Studies

mdrisco@email.unc.edu


John Ellison, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

John Gray Blount Ellison, Jr.

Finance Committee, Advisory Board


Oswaldo Estrada

Oswaldo Estrada

Associate Professor, Spanish

oestrada@email.unc.edu


Brian Fenty

Brian Fenty

Communications Chair, Advisory Board


Suzanne-Gulledge picture

Suzanne Gulledge

Director, Academic Leadership Program
919-962-7879
sgulledg@email.unc.edu


Jennifer Ho

Jennifer Ho

Associate Director
919-962-8478
jho@email.unc.edu


Philip Hollingsworth

Philip Hollingsworth

Coordinator for Faculty Programs
919-843-5464
pholling@email.unc.edu


Barbara Hyde, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Barbara R. Hyde

Development Committee, Advisory Board


Ebony Johnson photo

Ebony Johnson

Events Coordinator
919-962-0918
erj@email.unc.edu


Mark Katz

Mark Katz

Director
919-962-6831
mkatz@email.unc.edu


Michael Kennedy, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Michael D. Kennedy

Nominating Committee, Advisory Board


Rob Kramer Photo

Rob Kramer

Senior Leadership Consultant

rob_kramer@unc.edu


Old Well

Jocelyn Lim Chua

Assistant Professor, Anthropology; Faculty Advisory Board
919-962-1564
jlchua@email.unc.edu


Kathryn Long

Advisory Board Member


Lane McDonald board

Lane Morris McDonald

Communications Committee, Advisory Board


Noreen McDonald

Noreen McDonald

Professor, Chair, Department of City and Regional Planning; Director, Carolina Transportation Program at the Center for Urban and Regional Studies
919-962-4781
noreen@unc.edu


John McGowan photo

John McGowan

John McGowan, Director Emeritus (Director 2006-2014), Professor of English and Comparative Literature
919-962-4022
jpm@email.unc.edu


Old Well

Lucrecia Moore

Advisory Board Member


Barbara Moran

Facilitator, Retired Faculty Program
919-962-8067
moran@ils.unc.edu


Peter Mucha, Chairs Leadership Program

Peter Mucha

Director, Chairs Leadership Program
919-962-2568
mucha@unc.edu


Alan Neely Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Alan Sanders Neely, Sr.

Nominating Committee, Advisory Board


Mai Nguyen, Associate Professor in the Department of City and Regional Planning at U.N.C.

Mai Nguyen

Director, New Faculty Program
919-962-4762
nguyen@unc.edu


Todd Ochoa

Todd Ochoa

Associate Professor, Religious Studies Department
919-962-3934
tochoa@email.unc.edu


Elizabeth Olson

Elizabeth Olson

Associate Professor, Geography Department
919-962-6816
eaolson@email.unc.edu


Old Well

Will Overlock

Advisory Board Member


Susan Harbage Page

Susan Harbage Page

Assistant Professor, Women’s and Gender Studies
919-962-3908
pages@email.unc.edu


Hannah Perez Photo

Hannah Perez

Development Coordinator
919-962-6830
hannah.perez@unc.edu


Old Well

Roger Perry

Vice Chair, Advisory Board


David Pfennig

David Pfennig

Professor, Biology
919-962-6958
dpfennig@unc.edu


Geoff Sayre-McCord

Geoff Sayre-McCord

Associate Professor Program Director
919-627-1403
sayre-mccord@unc.edu


Old Well

Nelson Schwab III

Chair, Advisory Board


Old Well

Kumarini Silva

Assistant Professor, Communication

kumi@email.unc.edu


Old Well

John Staton

Development Committee, Advisory Board


Beverly Taylor, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Beverly Taylor

Professor, Department of English and Comparative Literature
(919) 962-5481
btaylor@email.unc.edu


Old Well

John Townsend III

Finance Committee, Advisory Board


Ruel Tyson 2016 photo

Ruel Tyson

IAH Founder and Director Emeritus (Director 1987-2006)
919-962-3935
tyson@email.unc.edu


Rebecca Walker

Associate Professor, Social Medicine & Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
919-843-6896
rebecca_1_walker@med.unc.edu


Barbara Wasik

Facilitator, Retired Faculty Program
919-966-6908
wasik@unc.edu


Tommie Watson, I.A.H. Director of Operations

Tommie Watson

Director of Operations
919-843-2657
tommie@email.unc.edu


John White

John F. White III

Nominating Committee, Advisory Board


John Wickham

John Wickham

Communications Committee, Advisory Board


Rebecca Williams

Business Manager
919-843-5108
rcwilliams@unc.edu


Caroline Williamson, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Caroline Williamson

Advisory Board Member


Molly Worthen

Assistant Professor, History
919-962-1031
mworthen@unc.edu