Skip to main content

Directors Emeriti

The Institute's leadership, staff, faculty, and advisory boards are dedicated to the IAH mission to support and develop Carolina faculty. Below is a listing of these teams as well as our current Faculty Fellows and Academic Leadership Program Fellows.

Ruel Tyson 2016 photo

Ruel Tyson

IAH Founder and Director Emeritus (Director 1987-2006)

Ruel Tyson founded the Institute for the Arts and Humanities and guided its development as director for 20 years. He remained dedicated to scholarship and service until his passing in 2019.

John McGowan photo

John McGowan

Director Emeritus (Director 2006-2014), Professor Emeritus of English and Comparative Literature

John McGowan served for eight years as the Director of UNC’s Institute for the Arts and Humanities.

Mark Katz

Mark Katz

Director Emeritus (Director 2014-2019), Distinguished Professor of Music

Mark Katz is the Ruel W. Tyson, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Humanities and former Director of the Institute for the Arts and Humanities.

Andy Perrin

Andrew Perrin

Director Emeritus (2019-2021)

Andrew Perrin is a professor of sociology and director emeritus of the Institute for the Arts and Humanities.