Skip to main content

Chapman Summer Fellows


The Chapman Summer Fellows, also called the Chapman Family Teaching Awards, was created in 1993 with a gift during the Bicentennial Campaign from Max Carrol Chapman Jr. ’66 on behalf of the Chapman family.

The award was established to honor the distinguished teaching of undergraduate students. Four Chapman Summer Fellows are selected each year by the Provost’s Teaching Awards Committee. The Fellows receive a $30,000 flexible-use stipend to support course development and/or research over five years.

The Chapman Summer Fellows participate in two meetings over a meal to discuss their planned project and any challenges as they go into summer, build community as a cohort, and acknowledge accomplishments along the way with the Institute for the Arts and Humanities Director.


2022 Chapman Summer Fellows

Mara Evans, STEM teaching associate professor, biology department

Jason Franz, associate professor, UNC-Chapel Hill & NC State joint department of biomedical engineering

Rick Warner, associate professor and director of film studies, English and comparative literature department

Yi Zhou, teaching professor, Asian and Middle Eastern studies department


See previous Chapman Summer Fellows.