Skip to main content

IAH Advisory Board

The Institute's leadership, staff, faculty, and advisory boards are dedicated to the IAH mission to support and develop Carolina faculty. Below is a listing of these teams as well as our current Faculty Fellows and Academic Leadership Program Fellows.

John Wickham

John R. Wickham, BA ’84

Chair, Advisory Board

John is the co-founder and a partner at Collwick Capital, LLC.

Lane McDonald

Lane Morris McDonald, ABJM ’00

Vice Chair, Advisory Board | Chair, Nominating Committee

Lane is a Managing Director of OMERS Private Equity.

JK Brown

James Keith Brown, BA ’84.

JK is the Senior Managing Director at Coatue Management, LLC.

Lee Burrows

Lee Burrows, ABJM ’82

Nominating Committee

Lee is the Vice Chairman of Investment Banking for Performance Trust Capital Partners and Chairman of the Board and co-founder of UB Bancorp.

Max Chapman

Tom Chapman, BA ’92

Chair, Finance Committee

Tom is a Principal at Teewinot Partners.

Philip Charles-Pierre

Philip Robin Charles-Pierre, BA ’95

Communications Committee

Philip is the CEO and co-founder of Semsee. 

Phillip Clay

Phillip L. Clay, BA ’68

Nominating Committee

Phil is Chancellor Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Urban Studies and Planning at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Brent Comstock

Brent Michael Comstock, BSBA ’17

Communications Committee

Brent is the founder and CEO of BCom Solutions, a nationally recognized digital advertising agency focused on impact-driven campaigns, causes and corporate clients.

Rebecca Darwin

Rebecca Wesson Darwin, BA ’75

Communications Committee

Rebecca is the co-founder and CEO of Garden & Gun Magazine.

Catherine Edwards

Catherine T. Edwards, BA ’92

Nominating Committee

Catherine is a member of the Carolina Women’s Leadership Council.

Mary Flanagan

Mary Fieger Flanagan, BA ’67

Communications Committee

Mary was the initial Director of Development for the IAH, serving in that role from 1995 through 2012.  

Julia S. Grumbles, BA ’75

Development Committee

Julia is a member of the Campaign for Carolina Steering Committee, co-chair of the Campaign for Carolina Women’s Campaign Cabinet and member of the UNC-CH Foundation Board. 

Robert Hackney

Robert H. Hackney, Jr., BA ’75, JD ’79, MBA ’79

Finance Committee

Robert is a former Senior Advisor at First Eagle Investment Management, LLC.

Harold P. Hope III

Harold P. Hope III, BA ’94

Finance Committee

Harold is a Managing Director at Goldman Sachs.

William Keyes

William A. Keyes IV, ’75, PhD ’18

Nominating Committee

Bill is President of the Institute for Responsible Citizenship.

Miles Lamont

John Miles Lamont, BA’02

Development Committee

Miles is the co-founder of AMCAP Royalty Funding.

Kathryn Long

Kathryn Scott Long, BA ’77

Communications Committee

Kathryn and her husband, Bobby, live in Greensboro, NC.  They have been long-standing supporters of the arts and community at large. 

Karol Mason

Karol V. Mason, BA ’79

Nominating Committee

Karol is the President of John Jay College of Criminal Justice.

Deborah Miller

Deborah Penley Miller, BA ’91

Development Committee

Deborah is a former attorney with the American Cancer Society and Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.

James Moeser

James Moeser

Nominating Committee

James Moeser is Chancellor Emeritus and Professor of Music Emeritus at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. As chancellor from 2000 to 2008, he articulated the vision that UNC should be America’s leading public university.

Lucrecia Moore

Lucrecia Renea Moore, BA ’92 

Finance Committee

Lucrecia Moore is Senior Company Counsel at Wells Fargo.

Walker Morris

Walker Morris, BA ’74

Communications Committee

Walker is President of Muirfield Broadcasting and a former Chief Executive Officer at the Clinton Development Initiative.

Allen Mosely

Allen Moseley, BA ’91

Nominating Committee

Allen is the Managing General Partner at Noro-Moseley Partners.

Will Overlock

Willard Joseph Overlock III, BA ’02

Chair, Communications Committee

Will is the Vice-President of Leasing at Reckson, a division of the Cappelli Organization. 

John Curtis Staton, BA ’89

Chair, Development Committee

John Staton is the President of Concepts Sport.

Brian Strong

Brian Grover Strong, ABJM ’00

Brian is the Head of Global Communications at Bloomberg Media.

Amanda Watlington

Amanda Giannini Watlington, PhD ’72

Communications Committee

Amanda is the Chief Executive Officer at City Square Consulting.

Sandra Wilson

Sandra Fay Wilson, BA ’80

Nominating Committee

Sandra is a retired Colonel, US Air Force and a retired Senior Executive, National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA).

Thomas Woodbury

Thomas M. Woodbury, BA ’73, JD ’77

Finance Committee

Tom is a former President, Global Distribution at HBO.

Mike Yelverton

Michael F. Yelverton, BA ’98 

Development Committee

Mike is Principal and Managing Director at Tiedemann Advisors.

Buck Goldstein

Buck Goldstein, BA ’70, JD ’76

Lifetime Member

Buck was the founding Chair of the IAH. He is the University Entrepreneur in Residence and a Professor of the Practice in the School of Education at UNC.

Barbara Hyde, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Barbara Hyde, BA ’83

Lifetime Member

Barbara is Chair and CEO of the Hyde Family Foundation.

John O'Hara

John O’Hara, MBA ’79

Lifetime Member

John is a retired investment manager, most recently as Managing Director and Senior Advisor at Rockefeller and Company. 

Roger Perry

Roger Perry, BA ’71

Lifetime Member

Roger is Chairman of East West Partners Club Management. He is also President of East West Partners Management Company, Inc.

Nelson Schwab

Nelson Schwab III, BA ’67

Lifetime Member

Nelson is a Co-Founder and Senior Advisor at Carousel Capital.

Sherwood Smith

Sherwood Smith, BA ’56, JD ’60

Lifetime Member

Sherwood is Chairman Emeritus, Carolina Power & Light Company.

Caroline Williamson, Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Caroline C. Williamson, BSBA ’83

Lifetime Member

Caroline is the President, Treasurer, and a Director of the B. Robert Williamson, Jr. Foundation.