The Institute's leadership, staff, faculty, and advisory boards are dedicated to the IAH mission to support and develop Carolina faculty. Below is a listing of these teams as well as our current Faculty Fellows and Academic Leadership Program Fellows.


Emily Burrill

Director, African Studies Center; Associate Professor, Women's and Gender Studies Department
919-962-3908
eburrill@email.unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow


Misha Becker

Misha Becker

Professor, Department of Linguistics
919-962-1192
mbecker@email.unc.edu

Misha Becker is Professor of Linguistics. She earned her B.A. in Language Studies before completing both her M.A. and Ph.D. at the University of California Los Angeles. Dr. Becker’s background is in s … Continued


Wendy Cox

Wendy Cox

Associate Dean for Professional Education, Eshelman School of Pharmacy
919-966-9990
wendy_cox@unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow


Mark Crescenzi

Mark Crescenzi

Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor & Chair, Department of Political Science,
919-962-0401
crescenzi@unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow


Noreen McDonald

Noreen McDonald

Professor, Chair, Department of City and Regional Planning; Director, Carolina Transportation Program at the Center for Urban and Regional Studies
919-962-4781
noreen@unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow


Todd Ochoa

Todd Ochoa

Associate Professor, Religious Studies Department
919-962-3934
tochoa@email.unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow


Elizabeth Olson

Elizabeth Olson

Associate Professor, Geography Department
919-962-6816
eaolson@email.unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow


David Pfennig

David Pfennig

Professor, Biology
919-962-6958
dpfennig@unc.edu

Academic Leadership Fellow