Skip to main content

Announcing the 2024 Schwab Academic Excellence Awards Winners

March 14, 2024 | Kristen Chavez

The winking owl weathervane above Hyde Hall, lit by an afternoon sun.

The Institute is pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Schwab Academic Excellence Awards. The award recognizes one faculty member from each College of Arts and Sciences department in the arts, humanities, and qualitative social sciences. Department chairs nominate faculty members, who may use the awarded funds to support their scholarship and creative activities.

This year’s recipients are:

African, African American, and Diaspora Studies: Eunice Sahle (ALP ’16)
American Studies: Gabrielle Berlinger
Anthropology: Townsend Middleton (FFP ’14, ’20)
Art and Art History: Martin Wannam
Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: Pamela Lothspeich (FFP ’12, ’23)
City and Regional Planning: Ashley Hernandez
Classics: Jennifer Gates-Foster, (FFP ’16)
Communication: Joyce Rudinsky (FFP ’05, ’07)
Dramatic Art: David Navalinksy
English and Comparative Literature: Ylce Irizarry
Geography and Environment: Sara Smith (FFP ’11, FFP ’18)
Germanic Slavic Languages and Literatures: Adi Nester
History: Eren Tasar
Linguistics: Caitlin Smith
Music: Evan Feldman
Philosophy: Mariska Leunissen (FFP ’16)
Political Science: Matt Weidenfeld
Religious Studies: Brendan Thornton (FFP ’22)
Romance Studies: Nilzimar Hauskrecht
Sociology: Yong Cai
Women’s and Gender Studies: Tanya Shields (FFP ’20; ALP ’17)

IAH Advisory Board member and former chair Julia Sprunt Grumbles established the award in 2015 to help department chairs recognize teaching and scholarship. Nelson Schwab III, former IAH Advisory Board Chair, has since endowed the fund.




Categories: News

Comments are closed.