Skip to main content

Schwab Academic Excellence Awards recognize 21 faculty members

January 17, 2020 | Sophia Ramos

The Institute is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Schwab Academic Excellence Awards. The award recognizes one faculty member in each College of Arts and Sciences department in the arts, humanities, and qualitative social sciences. Department chairs nominate faculty for the award, and each winner receives a $3,000 prize. Awardees may use the funds to advance their teaching or scholarship.

Former IAH Advisory Board Chair Julia Sprunt Grumbles established the award in 2015 to help department chairs recognize teaching and scholarship. Nelson Schwab III, former IAH Advisory Board Chair and current board member, has since endowed the fund.


Please join us in congratulating the Schwab Academic Excellence Award winners:

Classics: Emily Baragwanath

Women’s and Gender Studies: Emily Burrill 

City and Regional Planning: Andrew Whittemore 

Geography: Sara Smith 

Religious Studies: David Lambert

Anthropology: Michele Rivkin-Fish

Sociology: Taylor Hargrove

Romance Studies: Irene Castellano-Gomez

Political Science: Cameron Ballard-Rosa

Philosophy: Alex Worsnip 

Music: Aaron Harcus

Linguistics: Brian Hsu

History: Matthew Andrews

Germanic & Slavic Languages and Literature: Richard Langston

English & Comparative Literature: Taylor Cowdery 

Dramatic Art: Aubrey Snowden

Communication: Sarah Dempsey 

Asian Studies: Mark Driscoll 

Art & Art History: Mario Marzan

American Studies: Michelle Robinson 

African, African American, and Diaspora Studies: Michael Lambert 


Categories: News, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.