Skip to main content

Announcing the 2023-2024 Academic Leadership Fellows

August 25, 2023 | Kristen Chavez

The Institute for the Arts and Humanities is pleased to announce the 2023-2024 cohort of Academic Leadership Fellows. The eight Fellows hail from several departments in the College of Arts and Sciences and four of the University’s professional schools.

The Institute helps prepare and support current and emerging academic leaders through the Tyson Academic Leadership Program. Fellows engage in a series of activities to help them develop leadership capacities, clarify their career commitments, build a leadership network within the campus community, and extend their contacts to other leaders beyond the University.

The cohort will meet weekly in spring 2024 in seminars led by Program Director Viji Sathy and Senior Leadership Advisor Rob Kramer.

Academic Leadership Fellows: 2023-2024. Portraits on top row: Jay Aikat, Mara Buchbinder, Michael Figueroa, Tanya Garcia. Bottom row: Robin Sansing, Patricia Sullivan, J. Michael Terry, Benjamin Waterhouse.

The 2023-2024 Academic Leadership Fellows:

Jay Aikat, Vice Dean, School of Data Science and Society; Research Professor, Computer Science Department

Mara Buchbinder, Professor, Social Medicine Department, School of Medicine

Michael Figueroa, Associate Professor, Music Department

Tanya Garcia, Associate Professor, Biostatistics Department, Gillings School of Public Health

Robin Sansing, Clinical Associate Professor, School of Social Work

Patricia Sullivan, Associate Professor, Public Policy Department

J. Michael Terry, Associate Professor, Linguistics Department

Benjamin Waterhouse, Associate Professor, History Department


The Tyson Academic Leadership Program is now accepting applications for the 2024-2025 cohort. Applications are due Oct. 26.

Categories: Featured News Content, News

Comments are closed.