Skip to main content

The Institute announces the 2021 Schwab Academic Excellence Award winners

January 8, 2021 | Sophia Ramos

The Institute is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Schwab Academic Excellence Awards. The award recognizes one faculty member in each College of Arts and Sciences department in the arts, humanities, and qualitative social sciences. Department chairs nominate faculty for the award, and each winner receives a $3,000 prize. Awardees may use the funds to advance their teaching or scholarship.

Julia Sprunt Grumbles, current IAH Advisory Board member and former chair of the board, established the award in 2015 to help department chairs recognize teaching and scholarship. Nelson Schwab III, who is also a former IAH Advisory Board Chair, has since endowed the fund.


Please join us in congratulating the Schwab Academic Excellence Award winners:

African, African American and Diaspora Studies: Petal Samuel
American Studies: Kelly Alexander
Anthropology: Benjamin Arbuckle
Art and Art History: Eduardo Douglas
Asian Studies: Jonathan Kief
City and Regional Planning: Danielle Spurlock
Classics: Janet Downie
Communication: Kumi Silva
Dramatic Art: Triffin Morris
English and Comparative Literature: H.M. Cushman
Geography: Banu Gokariksel
Germanic and Slavic: Aleksandra Prica
History: Lauren Jarvis
Linguistics: Jennifer Smith
Music: Clara Yang
Philosophy: Tom Dougherty
Political Science: Anna Bassi
Religious Studies: Hugo Mendez
Romance Studies: Carmen Hsu
Sociology: Jessica Houston Su
Women’s & Gender Studies: Jacob Lau

Categories: News

Comments are closed.