Skip to main content

Announcing the 2022 Schwab Academic Excellence Award winners

February 4, 2022 | Kristen Chavez

The Institute is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Schwab Academic Excellence Awards. The award recognizes one faculty member from each College of Arts & Sciences department in the arts, humanities, and qualitative social sciences. Department chairs nominate faculty, who may use the awarded funds to support their scholarship and creative activity.

Former IAH Advisory Board Chair Julia Sprunt Grumbles established the award in 2015 to help department chairs recognize teaching and scholarship. Nelson Schwab III, former IAH Advisory Board Chair, has since endowed the fund.


2022 Schwab Academic Excellence recipients:

African, African American and Diaspora Studies: Charlene Regester
American Studies: Kita Douglas
Anthropology: Margaret Scarry
Art and Art History:  Roxana Perez-Mendez
Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: Li-ling Hsiao
City and Regional Planning: Alainna Thomas
Classics: Suzanne Lye
Communication: Michael Palm
Dramatic Art: Tia James
English and Comparative Literature: Courtney Rivard
Geography: Scott Kirsch
Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures: Priscilla Layne
History: Katherine Turk
Linguistics: Katya Pertsova
Music: Michael Figueroa
Philosophy: Markus Kohl
Political Science: Cecilia Martinez-Gallardo
Religious Studies: Waleed Ziad
Romance Studies: Dorothea Heitsch
Sociology: Scott Duxbury
Women’s & Gender Studies: Michele Tracy Berger

Categories: News

Comments are closed.