Skip to main content

Academic Leadership Program and Faculty Fellows 2017-2018

August 22, 2017 | M. Clay

The Institute is thrilled to welcome the 207-2018 cohorts of Academic Leadership Program Fellows and Faculty Fellows for the 2017-2018 academic year.  The Faculty Fellows Program provides on-campus leaves for faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences to work on interdisciplinary scholarly projects. Fellows also gather weekly around a meal to discuss their projects and professional development goals under the guidance of Michele Tracy Berger, Associate Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies and Director of the Faculty Fellows Program. The Academic Leadership Program (ALP) helps prepare and support current and emerging academic leaders. Fellows are selected annually to engage in a series of activities to help them develop leadership skills, clarify their career commitments, build a leadership network within the campus, and extend their contacts to other leaders beyond the University. ALP Director Suzanne Gulledge, clinical professor of Teacher Education, Curriculum and Instruction, International and Experiential Education and former chair of the faculty in the School of Education, co-facilitates the program with Senior Leadership Consultant Rob Kramer.


The Institute is thrilled to welcome Academic Leadership Program and Faculty Fellows.


Wendy Brewster, Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Mimi Chapman, Professor, Social Work

Elizabeth Engelhardt, John Shelton Reed Distinguished Professor, American Studies

Penny Gordon-Larsen, Professor, Nutrition

Morgan Pitelka, Professor, Asian Studies

Karla Slocum, Associate Professor, Anthropology

Adam Zanation, Harold C. Pillsbury Distinguished Associate Professor, Otolaryngology


Claude Clegg
Ellison Fellow
Lyle Jones Distinguished Professor, African, African American, and Diaspora Studies

Marisa Escolar
Turner Fellow
Assistant Professor, Romance Studies 

Banu Gökariksel
Chapman Fellow
Associate Professor, Geography

Corey Johnson
Chapman Fellow
Senior Lecturer, Biology

Elizabeth Olson
Burress Fellow
Associate Professor, Geography 

Charles Price
Taylor Fellow
Associate Professor, Anthropology

Matthew Taylor
Schwab Fellow
Associate Professor, English & Comparative Literature


GerShun Avilez
Blackwell Fellow
Associate Professor, English & Comparative Literature

Paul Friga
Chapman Fellow
Assistant Professor, Business School

Laura Halperin
McGowan Fellow
Associate Professor, English & Comparative Literature

Julia Haslett
Townsend Fellow
Assistant Professor, Communication

T. William Lester
Pardue Fellow
Associate Professor, City & Regional Planning

Federico Luisetti
Johnson Fellow
Professor, Romance Studies 

Carla Merino-Rajme
Borden Fellow
Assistant Professor, Philosophy

Ariana Vigil
Cramer Fellow
Associate Professor, Women’s and Gender Studies


For more information on the program and upcoming deadlines, visit our Fellowships Page.