Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Deadline: Nominations for the Johnson Prize

June 8, 2018 @ 11:30 pm - 11:59 pm


The Institute for the Arts and Humanities requests nominations for the George H. Johnson Prize for Distinguished Achievement by an IAH Fellow. The Institute awards the Johnson Prize to a full professor at UNC who has been a Fellow at the Institute. The Johnson Prize is awarded every two years and includes a $7,500 prize for the winner and a dinner in the recipient’s honor. Previous recipients of the award include Trudier Harris (2008), Julia Wood (2010), Gerald Postema (2012), James Peacock (2014), and John McGowan (2016).


• All full professors currently on faculty at UNC who have participated at any time in the Institute’s Faculty Fellows Program (including Chapman), Academic Leadership Program, or Ethics Program are eligible.
• The Johnson Prize honors a substantial contribution to scholarly or creative work in the arts, humanities, or qualitative social sciences over the course of an entire career. Leadership in the faculty member’s chosen field of endeavor, on the UNC campus, or in a specific on- or off-campus community, will figure prominently in the committee’s selection of the recipient.


Nominations for the Johnsson Prize should be sent to the IAH Associate Director Jennifer Ho at jho@email.unc.edu by June 8, 2018. Please do not tell colleagues that you are nominating them for this prize or ask them to give you supporting materials for the nomination. The selection committee will collect the necessary materials for making the decision as needed.


A faculty committee appointed by Jennifer Ho, Associate Director of the Institute for the Arts and Humanities, will review the nominees and make a recommendation to the IAH Director and the Senior Associate Dean for the Fine Arts and Humanities of the College. Announcement of the prize will be made by July 1, 2018. The IAH will host the award dinner on November 2, 2018.


June 8, 2018
11:30 pm - 11:59 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,