Skip to main content

Announcing the Schwab Academic Excellence Award Winners

February 20, 2019 | Amani Reed

The Institute for the Arts and Humanities has announced the winners of this year’s Schwab Academic Excellence Awards. The $3,000 prize recognizes one faculty member in each College of Arts and Sciences department across the arts, humanities and qualitative sciences. Department chairs nominate faculty for the award. Awardees may use the funds to advance their teaching or scholarship.

Former IAH Advisory Board Chair Julia Sprunt Grumbles (who is now a member of the University Board of Trustees) established the award in 2015 to help department chairs recognize teaching and scholarship. The current IAH Advisory Board Chair Nelson Schwab III (’67, English) has since endowed the fund.

Here are the Schwab Academic Excellence Award Winners:

American Studies: Benjamin E. Frey
Music: Michael Kris
City and Regional Planning: T. William Lester
Romance Studies: Bruno Estigarribia
Philosophy: Thomas Hofweber
Linguistics: David Mora Marín
Communication: Renée Alexander Craft
Political Science: Ashley Anderson 
Women’s & Gender Studies: Tanya L. Shields
African, African American & Diaspora Studies: Kenneth Janken
Sociology: Kate Weisshaar
German: Stanislav Shvabrin
Religious Studies: Jamal Thornton
Geography: Andrew Curley 
Dramatic Art: Gregory Kable
Classics: Hérica Valladares
Asian Studies: Yi Zhou
Art & Art History: Tatiana C. String 
Anthropology: Margaret J. Weiner 
History: Eren Tasar
English & Comparative Literature: Kimberly J. Stern

Categories: News

Comments are closed.