Skip to main content

The Institute for the Arts and Humanities has selected 18 faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences for its semester-long Faculty Fellows Program and eight for its year-long Academic Leadership Program for 2014-2015.

“Our two signature faculty development programs offer faculty time to pursue their scholarship and leadership development in a community of peers from diverse disciplines,” said IAH Executive Director Maria LaMonaca Wisdom. “We find this to be a powerful combination, offering both perspective and support for their work and careers.”

The Faculty Fellows Program provides on-campus leaves for faculty to work on topics of their choosing and a weekly gathering of Fellows to discuss their projects and issues of academic life.

The Fall 2014 IAH Fellows and their topics are:

  • Anna Agbe-Davies, Taylor Fellow, assistant professor, anthropology, “The Stagville Plantation Store: Shopping in the Shadow of the Big House.”
  • Stephen Anderson Chapman Family Fellow, associate professor, music, “Composing New Concerto for Solo Percussion and Symphony Orchestra.”
  • Cemil Aydin, Espy Fellow, associate professor, history, “The Making of “the Muslim World”: A Global Intellectual History”
  • Lucia Binotti, Cramer/Digital Innovations Lab Fellow, professor, romance languages, “Tracking IPV in Latino Communities: A Sociolinguistic Model for Survivors and Providers.”
  • Anne McNeil, Yoder/Digital Innovations Lab Fellow, associate professor, music, “Parsing Ottaviano Petrucci’s Prints.”
  • Townsend Middleton, Pardue Fellow, assistant professor, anthropology, “Beyond Recognition: Tribes and Politics of the Indian Ethno-Contemporary.”
  • Chérie Rivers Ndaliko, IAH Board Fellow, assistant professor, music, “Charitable Imperialism.”
  • Jennifer Smith, Chapman Family Fellow, associate professor, linguistics, “Quantitative Literacy for the Humanities: The View from Linguistics.”

Spring 2015 Fellows are:

  • Jan Bardsley, Turner Fellow, associate professor, Asian studies, “Fashioning Mr. Japan: Masculinity on the Pageant Runway.”
  • Tim Carter, Kenan Fellow, professor, music, “Let ’Em Eat Cake: Leftist Musical Theater in 1930s America.”
  • Banu Gokariksel, Burress Fellow, associate professor, geography, “Religion in the Public Sphere: The Transformation of Secularism and Muslim Identities in Turkey.”
  • Thomas Hofweber, Blackwell Fellow, professor, philosophy, “Within Our Bounds: Intellectual Humility and the Limits of Conceptual Representation.”
  • Heidi Kim, Belk Fellow, assistant professor, English and comparative literature, “Illegal Warriors: Chinese Americans and the Fight for Citizenship and Cultural Acceptance in the Cold War.”
  • Miguel La Serna, Marley Fellow, assistant professor, history, “Resurrecting Túpac Amaru: Memory and Revolution in Peru, 1968-1997.”
  • Cary Levine, Dubose Fellow, associate professor, art, “Net Works: Art and the Web in the 1990s.”
  • Enrique Neblett, Chapman Family Fellow, assistant professor, psychology, “Integrating Diversity and Multiculturalism in Teaching Psychology.”
  • Alvaro Reyes, N. Schwab Fellow, assistant professor, geography, “Decolonizing Geographies at ‘The End of The World.’”
  • Milada Vachudova, Borden Fellow, associate professor, political science, “Democratization in the Western Balkans: Political Contestation and the Leverage of the European Union.”

The Academic Leadership Program (ALP) prepares faculty for academic, intellectual and institutional leadership roles at the University and provides ongoing support for faculty who have assumed such positions.

The 2014-2015 ALP Fellows are:

  • Giselle Corbie-Smith, M.D., Kenan Distinguished Professor, director, Center for Health Equity Research, School of Medicine.
  • Michael Emch, professor and chair, geography.
  • Suzanne Gulledge, clinical professor of teacher education, curriculum and instruction, international and experiential education, School of Education, and chair of the faculty.
  • Stephen Leonard, associate professor, political science.
  • Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, professor and chair of the department of nutrition, School of Public Health.
  • Layna Mosley, professor, political science.
  • Eric Muller, Dan K. Moore Distinguished Professor of Law in Jurisprudence and Ethics, School of Law.
  • Joan Taylor, professor, department of pathology, School of Medicine, associate director, McAllister Heart Institute.

The Institute for the Arts and Humanities helps UNC develop and retain a world-class faculty by supporting faculty members at every career stage. The IAH funds individual and collaborative research, develop faculty leaders and teachers, and foster collaborative, interdisciplinary communities that promote intellectual exchange. For more information, visit

Comments are closed.